On Results

Akotowaa Ntontan

You have no idea the kind of stress I went through just to make this post coherent (or at least, I hope this version is) and not as emotionally charged and messy as it was before.

This post is something like a response to the thing my almost-cousin, Elaine, wrote, “on checked lists,” even though I have been thinking what I am now writing way before her post was published.

I’ve been thinking so much about results, what they show, how effective they are, and the effect they have on us in general – especially in a college context, when everyone is trying to find the right stepping stones to lead them to their successful futures.

I realized I had a problem perhaps halfway through the semester, when nearly every college-age human being I knew seemed to be preparing to do something super impressive with their summer break…

View original post 2,151 more words

what are your thoughts?

